Tips & tricks
How to...

How to handle research data

  • Legal issues

    Before you collect, process and publish scientific research data, you should check the legal framework and guidelines for handling research data. Personal data, for example, is regulated by data protection laws. If you process data collected from other persons or institutions, check in advance to ensure that their use is permitted. Is the Data released under a specific license? Also consult your employer to find out what exploitation rights you have to the data you have collected. Further information can be found in our FAQs on legal aspects of handling research data and in this expert assessment of legal aspects of research data management by the DataJus project (both only in German).

    Regulations

    • German Copyright Law
      Many raw data are not protected by copyright, but there may be certain exceptions.

    Related Links
    Information on forschungsdaten.info (mainly in German)
    Legal aspects of Open Science (in German)

  • Documentation

    Metadata is used for the structured documentation and description of research data. They consist of descriptive and technical information. Research data should always be stored together with its metadata. In public repositories, this usually happens automatically and is mandatory. Before publication, metadata can be saved in a number of formats, e.g.

    • in a database.
    • in tables (e.g. Excel).
    • in a readme file (text, PDF).
    • in a structured XML file.
    • in the data file (e.g. in the file header).


    Good documentation ensures that data

    • is findable,
    • can be processed automatically, e.g. by search engines,
    • can be reused better or at all,
    • can be quoted and thus directly associated with the creator of the data,
    • is more valuable for science, since content, quality and state of processing can be evaluated.

    Basic descriptive metadata

    • Unique identifier
    • Title
    • Creator (primarily responsible researchers)
    • Collection date (also versions)
    • Format (if necessary: required software)
    • Subject area
    • Data description / abstract
    • Data collection (spatial / temporal)
    • Organisation
    • Legal Rights / License
    • Relations to other objects (data, texts...)

    Related Links

    Information on forschungsdaten.info (mainly in German)
    General metadata schemas:

  • File and folder names

    Folder and file names should consist of elements that allow quick classification of content. For example, you can provide information about the creation date, the file version and the person editing the research data. These elements are arranged in a uniform format. Make sure that naming conventions are agreed on in advance, set out in writing and adhered to during the research process.

    The more information file names contain, the longer they can become. Some programs cannot process very long file names. Information that is the same for all files in a folder is stored in the folder name instead.

    Tips for file naming

    • Dates in YYMMDD format, for example, 150828 for August 28, 2015.
    • Shorten personal data, e.g. to initials.
    • Use only the following characters for file names: A-Z a-z 0-9 _ (underscore)
    • Do not use umlauts, spaces or special characters, as many programs interpret these characters differently or do not display them correctly.
  • Data security

    Think carefully about where and how you store and secure your data. If you work with data that is worthy of protection, you should restrict access to it to the immediate collaborators. Typically, these restrictions are governed by the read and write permissions and sharing privileges on institute servers or in file services such as Seafile. Free cloud storage services and unencrypted USB media are not an appropriate place for sensitive data. Personal research data must always be stored encrypted. You can encrypt entire file systems from mass storage such as hard disks or portable USB media so that unauthorized persons can not access them. Most operating systems like macOS, Windows and Linux already come with built-in software (FileFault, Bitlocker, dm-crypt). For Windows, the open source  VeraCrypt is also recommended. Alternatively, you can also encrypt individual folders and files directly (file encryption). This is possible with the archive manager 7-Zip, some file managers or tools like GPG or OpenSSL.

    Further information

  • Data formats

    Data management begins with its collection. A variety of methods, e.g. measurements, simulations, surveys or text dissections is used to generate or collect data. Thus it is available in different file formats such as tables, CAD data, image and raster data, transcripts, program codes and much more. The chosen methodology, the type of data and its file formats determine whether and how data can be processed automatically. It also influences how compatible data is with other hardware and software systems and whether it remains readable in the long term.

    The data type determines in which form data are presented and stored. For example, survey data will rather be processed in tabular form than as a text. Complex data collection should be stored in a database rather than in an Excel sheet.

    Considering the file format of your data is important. Some devices and many application programs store data in a proprietary format. These may not be readable with other software. So, better save or convert the data in an open format. This facilitates data exchange and long-term archiving of data.

    Recommendations on data formats can be found on the website of the RADAR repository.

  • Data publication

    Funders, universities and scientific organisations require or recommend that research data and other results are openly accessible after a project ends. This makes it easier to evaluate research findings and to enable other researchers to reuse data.

    However, it is neither possible nor useful to publish all data generated during the research process. Data worthy to be published may be all data that are needed to understand a project’s outcome. The most important criteria are as followed:

    • Uniqueness: No duplicates of the data have already been published elsewhere.
    • Extremely limited reproducibility: The data cannot be re-generated or only at great expense.
    • High professional relevance: The data is of particular interest to your professional community or even across disciplines.
    • Basis of text publications: You have published a book or article based on the analysis of this data.

     

    To ensure that your data is reusable, please note the following:

    • Adequate documentation: Provide sufficient descriptive metadata so that the data set can be searched in a database (e.g. a repository).
    • Readability: If possible, save the data in open, widely used formats that can be opened independently of platforms and does not require special (possibly not permanently available) hardware and software.
    • Rights: Check whether the rights of third parties may prevent publication (e.g. copyrights or personal rights). If this is the case, try to have all necessary rights granted in writing by the persons concerned. Provide your data with an open license (e.g. CC0) so that it can be used by anyone without restrictions.

     

     

  • Data repositories

    Archiving and publishing data in a special data repository is a way to make data accessible and citable in the long term. Most repositories have special requirements for the data to be hosted, which should at best be considered before the data is created. Usually these are some or all of the following requirements:

    • Use open data formats that facilitate long-term archiving and access.
    • Mandatory metadata for documentation to increase findability and usability.
    • The assurance of the data provider that archiving and access to the data does not violate copyright or data protection laws.
    • Use of licenses or agreements that facilitate subsequent use (e.g. Open Access, Open Access after an embargo period).

     

    What to consider when choosing a repository

    • Guaranteed data preservation for at least 10 years
    • Affordable fees for long-term data preservation
    • Metadata acquisition for each record at least complying with DataCite or Dublin Core standards
    • Unique, long-term persistent identifiers, e.g. a DOI, are assigned for each data set.

    Repositories

    re3data.org
    Index of interdisciplinary and subject-specific repositories

    RIsources
    DFG Portal for Research Infrastructures

    Leibniz Universität Hannover


    RADAR
    Generic Data Repository operated by FIZ Karlsruhe and TIB

    ZENODO
    Generic Repository, funded by the European Union and operated at CERN.

  • Licenses

    Before sharing data with other parties, the requirements for re-use should be clarified. Researchers at LUH are recommended to use open licenses for data publications. By assigning an open license, the author allows other persons the right to use, modify and redistribute the data without restriction. There are licenses that limit these rights. However, these are no longer regarded as "open". The granting of a standardised license is usually a preliminary requirement for publication in repositories.

    Licenses

     

     

  • Data management plan

    The handling of research data should be recorded in a data management plan (DMP).

    The content of a DMP:

    • Project overview
    • What kind of data is used in my project? (Self-generated data, pre-existent data)
    • How is the data managed? (filenames, storage location (internal / external), backups)
    • How is the data processed?
    • Which legal aspects must be considered? (Data protection, licenses, how do I distribute my data?)
    • Data sharing and publication
    • Who is involved in what with the data (roles and responsibilities)?
    • What resources are available to me? (money, material, human resources)


    In general, you should draft the data management plan in as much detail as possible for internal project use. If the research process deviates from the original planning or if certain aspects are to be specified, the data management plan must be adapted.

    Online tools for the development of DMP

    DMPonline
    free, online tool for creating data management plans in English from the Digital Curation Centre (DCC)

    RDMO
    free DMP tool for institutional use with own entities

    Further Information

    LUH template for creating data management plans (in German)

    forschungsdaten.info (mainly in German)

    How to Develop a Data Management and Sharing Plan, Sarah Jones (DCC)

    Checklist for Data Management Plans from the DCC

  • Data storage and backup

    The loss of your data, which involves considerable expense of money, time and effort, and the analysis that builds on it, can have a significant negative impact on your research. Anyone who digitally generates and evaluates research data must therefore ensure that nothing is lost and that the results are stored securely for a long time. The following principles should be observed:

    • Regularly backup relevant research data on suitably devices, or use professional backup services.
    • The backup intervals determine the possible loss rate in the event of a fault - the more frequently you save, the lower the possible loss of data.
    • Every backup is only as good as the data recovery: Test recovery on your computer before an emergency occurs.

    Backup & Restore at the LUIS

    If possible, use the server of your institute for data storage, which is regularly backed up by the LUIS. With the Backup & Restore service, institutes and central institutions create backup copies of server data that change regularly or that belong to current projects. The service automatically stores copies LUIS servers, where they are secured for a limited period of time.

    Alternatively, the "Sync & Share" service Seafile is available as part of the central file service, which automatically copies selected data to a LUIS server. In addition, this data can be distributed to other devices.

    Backup programs

    The data on your PC can be secured on external media (USB storage, DVD, tapes) with the built-in mechanisms of your operating system (Windows Vista or higher: Backup & Restore) or with special software. A list of these programs can be found on Wikipedia.

    Related links

Kurz erklärt
Empfehlungen

Empfehlungen zum Umgang mit Forschungsdaten

  • Rechtliches

    Bevor Sie wissenschaftliche Daten erheben, verarbeiten und veröffentlichen, sollten Sie die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen und Vorgaben, für den Umgang mit Forschungsdaten prüfen. Personenbezogene Daten etwa unterliegen Datenschutzgesetzen. Wenn Sie Daten verarbeiten, die von anderen Personen oder Institutionen erhoben wurden, prüfen Sie im Vorfeld, ob deren Nutzung erlaubt ist. Klären Sie außerdem mit Ihrem Arbeitgeber, welche Verwertungsrechte Sie an den von Ihnen erhobenen Daten haben. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserem Merkblatt FAQs zu rechtlichen Aspekten im Umgang mit Forschungsdaten.

    Gesetze

    Weiterführende Links

    Informationen auf forschungsdaten.info

  • Dokumentation

    Für die strukturierte Dokumentation und Beschreibung von Forschungsdaten verwendet man Metadaten. Sie bestehen aus deskriptiven (beschreibenden) und technischen Informationen.

    Forschungsdaten sollten immer zusammen mit ihren Metadaten abgelegt werden. In einem öffentlichen Repositorium geschieht dies i.d.R. automatisch und verpflichtend. Vor der Veröffentlichung können die Metadaten in verschiedenen Formaten gespeichert werden, z.B.:

    • in einer Datenbank.
    • in Tabellen (z.B. Excel).
    • in einer Readme-Datei (Text, PDF).
    • in einer strukturierten XML-Datei.
    • in der Daten-Datei enthalten (z.B. im fileheader).

    Durch eine gute Dokumentation werden die Daten

    • besser auffindbar,
    • maschinell auffindbar, z. B. durch Suchmaschinen,
    • besser oder überhaupt erst nachnutzbar,
    • zitierfähig und damit dem Ersteller der Daten zuordnenbar,
    • wertvoller für die Wissenschaft, da Inhalte, Qualität und Bearbeitungsstand dann erst einzuschätzen sind.

    Grundlegende deskriptive Metadaten

    • Titel
    • Ersteller (hauptverantwortlich Forschende)
    • Erhebungsdatum (auch Versionen)
    • Format (ggf. benötigte Software)
    • Fachgebiet
    • Eindeutiger Identifier
    • Beschreibung der Daten / Abstract
    • Erfassung der Daten (räumlich / zeitlich)
    • Organisation
    • Rechte / Lizenzbestimmungen
    • Beziehung zu anderen Objekten (Daten, Texte...)

    Weiterführende Links

    Informationen auf forschungsdaten.info

    Allgemeine Metadatenschemata:

  • Dateibenennung und Ordnerstruktur

    Ordner- und Dateinamen sollten aus Elementen bestehen, die eine schnelle Einordnung des Inhalts erlauben. Sie können beispielsweise Auskunft über das Erstellungsdatum, die Dateiversion und die bearbeitende Person der Forschungsdaten geben. Diese Elemente ordnet man in einem einheitlichen Format an. Achten Sie darauf, dass Benennungskonventionen im Vorfeld vereinbart, schriftlich fixiert und während des Forschungsprozesses eingehalten werden.

    Je mehr Informationen Dateinamen enthalten desto länger können sie werden. Da einige Programme sehr lange Dateinamen nicht verarbeiten können, legt man die Teile der Information, die für alle Dateien in einem Ordner gleich sind, stattdessen im Ordnernamen ab.

    Tipps für die Dateibenennung

    • Datumsangaben im Format JJMMTT, also z.B. 150828 für den 28. August 2015.
    • Personenangaben verkürzen, z.B. auf Initialen.
    • Nutzen Sie nur folgende Zeichen für Dateinamen: A-Z a-z 0-9 : (Doppelpunkt) .(Punkt) - (Bindestrich) _ (Unterstrich) / (Schrägstrich)
    • Verwenden Sie keine Umlaute, Leerzeichen oder Sonderzeichen, denn viele Programme interpretieren dies Zeichen unterschiedlich oder stellen sie nicht korrekt dar.
  • Speicherorte und Backup

    Der Verlust Ihrer unter erheblichem Kosten-, Zeit- und Arbeitsaufwand erhobenen Daten und der darauf aufbauenden Analysen kann erhebliche negative Folgen für Ihre Forschung haben. Wer Forschungsdaten digital erzeugt und auswertet, muss daher sicherstellen, dass nichts verloren geht und die Ergebnisse für lange Zeit sicher aufbewahrt werden. Folgende Grundsätze sollten Sie beachten:

    • Regelmäßige Datensicherung der zum Forschungsprojekt gehörenden Dateien auf geeignete Medien oder Nutzung von Backup-Diensten.

    • Die Sicherungsintervalle bestimmen die im Fehlerfall mögliche Verlustquote - je häufiger Sie speichern, desto geringer ist der mögliche Datenverlust.

    • Jedes Backup ist nur so gut, wie die Datenwiederherstellung: Testen Sie die Wiederherstellung auf ihren Computer, bevor ein Notfall eintritt.

    Backup & Restore am LUIS

    Nutzen Sie für die Datenablage nach Möglichkeit Institutsserver, deren Daten regelmäßig vom LUIS gesichert werden. Mit dem Dienst Backup&Restore erstellen Institute und zentrale Einrichtungen Sicherungskopien von Serverdaten, die sich regelmäßig ändern oder die zu aktuellen Projekten gehören. Der Dienst holt die Kopien automatisch ins LUIS, das die Daten für einen begrenzten Zeitraum auf seinen Speichersystemen vorhält.

    Alternativ steht der "Sync & Share"-Dienst Seafile als Teil des zentralen Dateiservices bereit, der automatisch ausgewählte Daten auf einen LUIS-Server kopiert. Zusätzlich lassen sich diese Daten damit auch auf weitere Geräte verteilen.

    Backup-Programme

    Die Daten auf ihrem PC-Arbeitsplatz lassen sich mit den eingebauten Mechanismen Ihres Betriebssystems (ab Windows Vista etwa Backup&Restore) oder mit Spezial-Software auf externe Medien (USB-Speicher, DVD, Bänder) sichern. Eine Liste dieser Programme finden Sie bei Wikipedia.

    Weiterführende Links

  • Datensicherheit

    Überlegen Sie sorgfältig, wo und wie Sie Ihre Daten ablegen und sichern. Arbeiten Sie mit schutzwürdigen Daten, sollen Sie den Zugang zu diesen auf den unmittelbaren Mitarbeiterkreis einschränken. Üblicherweise regelt man diese Einschränkungen über die Lese- und Schreibberechtigungen sowie Freigaberechte auf Institutsservern oder bei Dateidiensten wie das vom LUIS betriebene Seafile. Kostenlose Cloud-Speicherdienste und unverschlüsselte USB-Medien sind kein geeigneter Platz für schützenswerte Daten. Personenbezogene Forschungsdaten müssen Sie grundsätzlich verschlüsselt speichern (Datenschutz-Gebot). Sie können ganze Dateisysteme von Massenspeicher wie Festplatten und tragbaren USB-Medien verschlüsseln, so dass Unbefugte sie nicht auslesen können (Datenträgerverschlüsselung). Die meisten Betriebssysteme wie macOS, Windows und Linux bringen dazu bereits Software mit (FileFault, Bitlocker, dm-crypt). Für Windows empfiehlt sich zudem das quelloffene VeraCrypt. Alternativ können Sie auch einzelne Ordner und Dateien direkt verschlüsseln (Dateiverschlüsselung). Das gelingt etwa mit dem Archivmanager 7-Zip, einigen Dateimanagern oder Tools wie GPG oder OpenSSL.

    Weitere Informationen

  • Dateiformate

    Das Management von Daten beginnt bereits mit ihrer Erhebung. Daten werden mit vielfältigen Methoden gesammelt und erzeugt, z.B. durch Messungen, Simulationen, Umfragen, Textanalysen. Sie liegen als Tabellen, CAD-Daten, Bild- und Rasterdaten, Transkripte, Programmcodes und vieles mehr vor und können in unterschiedlichen Dateiformaten gespeichert werden. Von der gewählten Methodik, der Art der Daten und ihren Dateiformaten hängt ab, ob und wie sie automatisch weiterverarbeitet werden können, wie kompatibel sie mit anderen Hard- und Softwaresystemen sind und ob sie langfristig lesbar bleiben.

    Die Art Ihrer Daten bestimmt ihre Form. So lassen sich beispielsweise Umfragedaten besser tabellarisch als in Form eines Textes strukturiert ablegen. Komplexe Datenerhebungen dürften besser in einer Datenbank aufgehoben sein als in einem Excel-Sheet.

    Wichtig ist die Wahl des Dateiformats. Einige Geräte und viele Anwendungsprogramme speichern Daten in einem Hersteller-spezifischen Format, das mit anderer Software selten lesbar ist. Prüfen Sie die Möglichkeit die Daten in ein offenes Format abzuspeichern oder zu konvertieren, um den Datenaustausch zu erleichtern.

    Empfehlungen zu Datenformaten finden Sie unter anderem auf der Homepage des RADAR-Projekts

  • Datenpublikation

    Viele Förderer, Universitäten und Wissenschaftsorganisationen verlangen oder empfehlen, Forschungsdaten frei zugänglich zu machen. Dadurch sind einerseits die publizierten Auswertungen besser überprüfbar. Andererseits wird eine Nachnutzung durch Dritte ermöglicht.

    In der Regel ist es jedoch weder möglich noch sinnvoll, sämtliche im Forschungsprozess entstandene Daten zu publizieren. Ein wichtiger Schritt ist daher die Auswahl der publikationswürdigen Daten, die die/der Forschende selbst trifft. Wir empfehlen die Publikation aller Daten, die mindestens eines der folgenden Kriterien erfüllen:

    • Einzigartigkeit: es sind keine Dubletten der Daten bereits an anderer Stelle veröffentlicht

    • Stark eingeschränkte Reproduzierbarkeit: die Daten könnten nicht oder nur unter sehr großem Aufwand erneut generiert werden

    • hohe fachliche Relevanz: Die Daten sind für Ihre Fachcommunity oder sogar fachübergreifend von besonderem Interesse

    • Grundlage von Textpublikationen: Sie haben Bücher oder Artikel veröffentlicht, die auf der Auswertung dieser Daten basieren

    Damit Ihre Daten auch tatsächlich nachgenutzt werden können, beachten Sie bitte Folgendes:

    • Adäquate Dokumentation: Stellen Sie ausreichend beschreibenden Metadaten bereit, damit der Datensatz verständlich ist gezielt in einer Datenbank (z.B. eines Repositoriums) gesucht werden kann.

    • Lesbarkeit: Speichern Sie die Daten nach Möglichkeit in offenen, weit verbreiteten Formaten, die plattformunabhängig geöffnet werden können und keine spezielle (evtl. nicht dauerhaft verfügbare) Hard- und Software benötigt.

    • Rechte: Prüfen Sie, ob ggf. Rechte Dritter einer Veröffentlichung entgegenstehen (z.B. Urheber- oder Persönlichkeitsrechte). Falls das der Fall ist, versuchen Sie, sich alle notwendigen Rechte von den Betroffenen schriftlich einräumen zu lassen. Versehen Sie Ihre Daten mit einer offenen Lizenz (z.B. CC0), damit sie von jedermann uneingeschränkt nachgenutzt werden dürfen.

  • Datenrepositorien

    Die Archivierung und Publikation von Daten in einem speziellen Datenrepositorium ist eine Möglichkeit um Daten langfristig zugänglich und zitierfähig zu machen. Die meisten Repositorien haben spezielle Anforderungen an die zu hostenden Daten, die bestenfalls bereits vor der Datenerstellung bedacht und berücksichtigt werden sollten. Üblicherweise sind das einige oder alle der folgenden Anforderungen:

    • Verwendung offener Datenformate, die die langfristige Archivierung und den Zugriff erleichtern
    • Pflicht-Metadaten zur Dokumentation, um Auffindbarkeit und Nutzbarkeit zu erhöhen
    • Versicherung des Datengebers, dass Archivierung und Zugriff auf die Daten nicht gegen das Urheberrecht oder den Datenschutz verstoßen.
    • Nutzung von Lizenzen oder Vereinbarungen, welche die Nachnutzung erleichtern (z.B. Open Access, Open Access nach einer Embargofrist)

    Worauf Sie bei der Wahl eines Repositoriums achten sollten

    • Garantierte Datenaufbewahrung für mindestens 10 Jahre

    • Bezahlbare Gebühren für die langfristige Datenaufbewahrung

    • Erfassung von Metadaten zu jedem Datensatz, die mindestens den Standards DataCite oder Dublin Core entsprechen

    • Vergibt für jeden Datensatz eindeutige, langfristig gültige Identifier, wie z.B. einen DOI

    Repositorien

    re3data.org
    Fachübergreifende Suche nach fachspezifischen Repositorien

    RIsources
    Portal der DFG für Forschungsinfrastrukturen

    Leibniz Universität Hannover

    RADAR
    Generisches Daten-Repositorium betrieben von FIZ Karlsruhe und TIB

    ZENODO
    Generisches Repositorium, finanziert von der Europäischen Union und betrieben am Cern.

  • Lizenzen

    Bevor Daten mit Dritten geteilt werden, sollten die Voraussetzungen für die Nachnutzung geklärt werden. Forschern an der LUH wird empfohlen, offene Lizenzen für Datenpublikationen zu verwenden. Mit der Vergabe einer offenen Lizenz räumt der Urheber anderen Personen das Recht ein, die Daten uneingeschränkt zu verwenden, zu verändern und weiterzuverbreiten. Es gibt auch Lizenzen, die diese Rechte einschränken. Diese gelten dann aber nicht mehr als "offen". Die Vergabe einer standardisierten Lizenz ist in der Regel eine Voraussetzung für die Publikation in Repositorien.

    Lizenzen

  • Datenmanagementplan

    Die Planungen zum Umgang mit Forschungsdaten sollten in einem Datenmanagementplan (DMP) festgehalten werden. Inhalt eines DMP ist:

    • Überblick über das Projekt
    • Welche Daten werden in meinem Projekt verwendet? (Selber generierte Daten, bereits existierende Daten)
    • Wie werden die Daten verwaltet? (Dateinamen, Speicherort (intern / extern), Backups)
    • Wie werden die Daten aufbereitet?
    • Welche rechtlichen Aspekte müssen beachtet werden? (Datenschutz, Lizenzen, wie verbreite ich meine Daten?)
    • Datenaustausch und Publikation
    • Wer macht was mit den Daten (Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten)?
    • Welche Ressourcen stehen mir zur Verfügung? (Geld, Material, Personal)

    Generell sollten Sie für den projektinternen Gebrauch die Datenmanagementpläne möglichst ausführlich formulieren. Weicht der Forschungsprozess von der ursprünglichen Planung ab oder sollen bestimmte Aspekte konkretisiert werden, wird der Datenmanagementplan angepasst.

    Online Tools für die Erstellung von DMP

    DMPonline
    freies, englischsprachiges Online-Tool für die Erstellung von Datenmanagementplänen des Digital Curation Centre (DCC)

    RDMO
    DMP-Tool für die institutionelle Nutzung mit eigenen Instanzen (in der Entwicklung)

    Weiterführende Informationen

    LUH-Template zum Erstellen von Datenmanagementplänen

    Forschungsdaten.info

    How to Develop a Data Management and Sharing Plan, Sarah Jones (DCC)

    Checkliste zum Data Management Plan des DCC